4th of May Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

15 Year Old Haley Takes Cabin Fever 100

By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway
Photo Credit - RW Motorsports Marketing - Mike Wood

Springport, Michigan (5/4) – 33 cars were on hand from the JEGS / CRA All-Stars Tour Presented by Chevrolet Performance for the running of the Cabin Fever 100 Presented by This event was the first points paying event for the JEGS / CRA teams, and was the door opener for the 2014 season for the Springport Motor Speedway. Clear skies and brisk temperatures greeted the huge crowd for the 100-lap main event. Fort Smith, Arkansas driver Cole Rouse would lead the field down for the green flag, but it would be Birch Run, Michigan pilot Dan Leeck taking the point on the first return trip. Leeck would pace the field in the early running, but by lap eight, he found himself overtaken by 2012 Kitsmiller RV Super Late Model Track Champion Dominique Van Wieringen taking control of the event. The young lady from Ontarion would set a torrid pace and would lead over half of the event, until a late race restart saw Leeck able to regain the lead. D. Van Wieringen would later on suffer a spin racing to maintain position and would come home in the top ten after restarting at the rear of the field. Leeck would hold the point for the next 14 laps, but would come under threat from 15 year old rookie JJ Haley. Haley started 18th in the field, but showed a mastery of the tricky 3/8s (.375) mile high banked oval and by lap 77 saw himself out front. Haley would go on to maintain his position for the rest of the event and become a race winner in the JEGS / CRA All-Stars Tour. Leeck would settle for second after leading over 20% of the event. Lakeland, Florida pilot Steve Dorer would finish in the final podium position, with Macomb, Michigan native, and fast qualifier Eric Lee in fourth and Lockport, Illinois driver Josh Nelms completing the top five. Tristan Van Wieringen would claim victory in the 15 lap last chance race earlier in the afternoon, while Eric Lee set the mark in qualifying with a 15.241. The travelling stars of the JEGS / CRA All-Stars tour will make another appearance at The Port during the running of the Michigan Cup Weekend to complete the 2014 season onSaturday September 20.


The Top Speed Modifieds made their first of four appearances at the Speedway for a 50-lap feature event. 37 cars took a qualifying time, with 25 of the open-wheeled machines starting the feature event. Charlotte, Michigan driver Gord Alblas would lead the field down for the start of the action-packed event, but Alblas would quickly be overtaken by Defending Track Champion Earl Miles. Miles however would see his lead be short lived as Jon McNett was able to sneak past on lap number three. McNett looked to be pretty comfortable in his lead, until Fort Wayne, Indiana driver Derrick Griffin made a power move to come from fifth to the lead in one lap, claiming the top spot on lap number six. The former ARCA / CRA Super Series Champion made things look easy from that point on, as he gapped the field to an impressive win. Jordan Pruitt, who was the winner with the series the night before at the Angola Motorsport Speedway finished second, with Travis Eddy, Dave Dobbins and Chad Poole rounding out the top five. Poole had a very impressive run, starting the event in the 18th position before working his way into the top handful. Two last chance races were run to set the 25 car field with Jason Parish and Poole winning those events. Griffin was the quickest qualifier with a 15.458 second lap.

Next up would be a special match race between our two top cars in the AP Motors A division. Defending Track Champion Joe Barnhart would go door to door with Don Bergau for the position, but as things came to a conclusion it was the Defending Champion starting off his season with a victory.

The Duck’s Point C-Store B-Division would hit the Speedway next with Jerry Schroll leading the field down for the start. Schroll would slip behind a hard charging Robert Kerber, was it was CRA Street Stock driver Jake Thompson from Birch Run, Michigan making his haul worthwhile as he snuck past Kerber to grab the top spot on lap two. Thompson was nearly untouchable as we went on to claim the win, oddly enough on his birthday. Jeff Lonsberry was second, with the husband and wife duo of Bryan and Deb Noble in third and fourth respectively. The top five would be completed by Eric Wagner.


Joe Barnhart was the quickest qualifier for the ABC Cars, turning a 16.502.

The Sport Stocks would be the final feature of evening. It would be Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame driver Dutch Taylor starting off up front, but Dutch would see his grandson Aaron, the Defending Track Champion sneak past to lead the opening lap. From there, it would be an amazing battle between A. Taylor and Rick Peck, as the Hastings, Michigan driver looked to get past the young Champion from Jackson. In the end, it would be Peck making the most of the opportunity as he took the lead and eventually the win. A.Taylor was second, with Brian Beckner, Ron Fizzell and D. Taylor completing the top five. Peck set the mark in qualifying with a 18.480.


This Saturday night, the Kitsmiller RV Super Late Models make their debut. Also on the card is the ABC Stock Cars presented by AP Motors and Kitsmiller RV, and the Sport Stocks. It is also Charlotte Good Neighbor Night. A Charlotte ID will get you in for no cost! Otherwise, adults are just $10, seniors are $8 and anyone 21 and under is free! Qualifying is at 5pm, racing begins at 7pm. For more information, visit us online at

Ninja RSS Syndicator

SMS Everything SMS Everything