Springport Motor Speedway


August 30 Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

Champions Crowned at Springport Motor Speedway
By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway Staff

Springport, Michigan (8/30) – Going in to the night, Defending Track Champion Aaron Taylor held a two point advantage over his grandfather, Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame Inductee Dutch Taylor in the FUG Printing Sport Stocks. Ryan Gordon started the feature on the pole, but it quickly shook out to Aaron leading Dutch around the 3/8s (.375) mile oval. While the laps wound down, Dutch would try and keep in touch but it was not to be as Aaron Taylor took the win, and became the first ever drive the repeat as Champion in the four cylinder cars since the advent of the division at the Speedway in 2004. Aaron Taylor completed a sweep of the program winning the heat race and taking fast time with a 19.017 (70.98 mph).

Next up would be the Drive Train Specialists Modifieds 30-lap feature. 24 cars were on the grounds, but the stars of the show were the three Championship contenders, Six-time and Defending Track Champion Earl Miles, 2011 Track Champion Walt Obrinske Jr. and points leader Mike Occhipinti. Sean McPherson started on the pole, but it would be Gord Alblas and Trei Deubel battling in the early laps. The two drivers would hold the point, until they made contact on a restart, ending the night for Deubel and sending Alblas to the rear. This would hand the lead over to Miles. However, Miles would quickly be overtaken by Obrinske. Obrinske would hold on to take the win, his second of the season. Miles settled for second with Occhipinti third. Glued to the rear bumper of Occhipint was fourth place finisher Dan Loughan and Bobby Heyink completed the top five. By virtue of his finish, Occhipinti would be crowned 2014 Track Champion. Tom Coleman, Jimmy Scavarda, Dane Long and Debuel won the heat races, while Jason Parish set fast time with a 15.774 (85.58 mph).

The third feature of the evening would be the AP Motors A-Division. Joe Barnhart had already sewn up his second consecutive Championship, there was still a big feature to run. Pat Dent started on the pole, holding the point for the first eight laps, until being overtaken by Jeremy Lutz. Lutz would cruise out in front taking his first win of the 2014 season. Barnhart was second with Earl Miles, Dent and Amber Slagle completing the top five.

In the Ducks Point C-Store B-Division feature, Rich Kinch started up front, but the start of the show was already crowned Track Champion Bryan Noble. The Battle Creek, Michigan driver ran up front and was able to close out his Championship season with his seventh win. Jordan Harvey was second with Mike Havens, Kinch, and Mark Langs Jr. completing the top five,

Heat races for the ABC Stock Cars went to Dustin Hyliard, Langs Jr., Dent and Mike Ammerman. Barnhart was fast qualifier with a 16.250 (83.07mph). There was a C-Division feature planned, but due to rain that hit the Speedway prior to the race, it was canceled.

Nate Jenkins won a special Bandolero exhibition feature.

The Springport Motor Speedway will take the next two weeks off in preparation for our big end of year show for the 2014 season, the Michigan Cup. Starting at 6pmSaturday September 20. The JEGS / CRA All-Stars Tour and Top Speed Fabrication ICAR Modifieds Series will complete their bookend of the season. In addition there will be an invitational for the Ducks Point C-Store / AP Motors ABC Stock Cars and FUG Printing Sport Stocks. For more information, stay posted to www.springportmotorspeedway.com

Ninja RSS Syndicator

SMS Everything SMS Everything