August 2 Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

Heyink Takes Top Speed Mods at Springport
By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway

Springport, Michigan (8/2) – 29 Cars checked in for the third of four Top Speed Fabrication ICAR Modifieds Series on Autograph Night at the Springport Motor Speedway. While they would be the fourth feature of the night, the anticipation was at an all-time high for the open wheeled warriors.

The first feature of the evening was the AP Motors A-Division, running a 25-lap feature event. Defending Track Champion and points leader Joe Barnhart would struggle with handling issues during qualifying and was able to benefit by gaining the outside front row starting spot. Barnhart would use this to his advantage, passing pole sitter John Trudell on the initial start to take his eighth win of the season. Mike Ammerman was second with JD Hancock, Trudell and Damon Place completing the top five.

The B-Division cars were next up for a 20-lap contest. Jordan Harvey was the leader on the start and would hold the point for the opening nine laps, before finding himself being overtaken by a hard charging rookie, Tim Sharpe Jr. Sharpe would power past on lap nine and would not be headed as he went on to take his first ever feature win. Bryan Noble was second with Jordan Harvey, Dale Eglon and Mike Havens completing the top five.

The Ducks Point C-Store C-Division cars would hit the track third for a 15-lap event. It would be Jennifer Slagg starting things off up front, until being overtaken by Tony Noble. Noble would hold the point for some time, before he found himself succumbing to the charge of Mark Langs Jr., on a tear after losing a wheel during qualifications. Langs would not be headed as he went on to take the win. Noble was second with Robert Kerber, Jennifer Flagg and Gator Williams completing the top five.

JD Hancock was fastest qualifier for the ABC Stock Cars for the second straight week with a 16.203 (83.317 mph). Heat races were claimed by Jordan Harvey, Dale Eglon and Joe Barnhart.

The next event on the track was the 50-lap Top Speed Fabrication ICAR Modifieds. Eaton Rapids, Michigan resident Bobby Heyink would start off on the pole and would have a powerful mount. He would be challenged briefly at different times by Mike Occhipinti, Joe Morisette and Travis Eddy, but Heyink would hold the lead wire to wire as he went on to take the win. Eddy was second with Jordan Pruitt, Mike Occhipinti and Justin Kazmar closing out the field. Two last chance races helped set the 24-car starting field with Mat Vainner and Harry Parish sealing the deal. Jordan Pruitt set fast time with a 15.590 (86.594 mph).

To close out the night were the FUG Printing Sport Stocks. Bill McBride started on the pole, but Steve Workman snagged the lead away early. Workman would be fending off a charge from Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame Driver Dutch Taylor. The two would slice and dice around the 3/8s mile oval for the entire duration of the race, but it was not to be for Dutch as Steve Workman claimed his first win of the season. Taylor was second with Michael Workman, Wayne Parkhurst and Darrell Harmon closing out the top five. Parkhurst and Taylor took heat races, Steve Workman took the Dash and Aaron Taylor set fast time at an 18.952 (71.233 mph).

This Saturday is a big event for the Springport Motor Speedway, as we have the honor of hosting the 10th Annual Charlie Ryan Jr. Memorial for the Kitsmiller RV Outlaw Super Late Models, AP Motors / Ducks Point C-Store ABC Stock Cars and the FUG Printing Sport Stocks. It is also Concord & Olivete, Michigan Good Neighbor Night, so the residents of that town will be able to get in for free with ID. Adults are still just $10, while anyone 21 and under is free. For more information visit us online at

Ninja RSS Syndicator

SMS Everything SMS Everything