August 3 Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

Miles, Loop, Place, Coleman and Kinch Win at Springport
By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway

Springport, Michigan (8/3) – An excited crowd came out for autograph night at the Springport Motor Speedway. The first feature of the night was the Drive Train Specialists Modifieds 30-lap main event. Joe Morisette would start things off on the pole, but after a caution that saw Morisette go around, the Port Huron, Michigan pilot would pull off the track. This would hand the lead over to Defending Track Champion Earl Miles. Miles would get a great restart and with the race running caution free, Miles was untouchable, as he went on to claim the win. Bobby Heyink was second with Nyle Weiler, Travis Eddy and Mike Occhipinti completing the top five. Walt Obrinske Jr. and Miles took the heat race wins, while Weiler was fastest in qualifying with a 16.046.

A season high 17 Sport Stocks lined up for their 20-lap main event with Steve Workman leading the field down for the start. Workman would set the pace for the opening handful of laps, before Travis Loop, making his first appearance of the season would launch from his seventh place starting spot to snag the lead away. The field would give chase, but it would be Loop taking the top spot. William Hartman was second, with Aaron Taylor, Workman, and Ron Fizzell completing the top five. Cameron Garza, Workman, and Hartman took the heat race wins, with Loop setting fast time with an 18.827. Aaron Taylor was the winner of the Dash.

Next up was the 25-lap Duck’s Point C-Store A-Division feature. The race would see John Trudell starting things off on the pole, but it would be Defending Track Champion Damon Place slipping into the lead on lap one. Place would then be under assault from current points leader Joe Barnhart. Barnhart would do everything in his power to get around, but it would be Damon Place taking his first win of the season. Barnhart was second with JD Hancock, Jeremy Lutz and John Trudell completing the top five.

The 20-lap AP Motors B-Division was the next feature to hit the Speedway. Tom Coleman had started the night off with engine issues in practice and elected to swap out the engine. Because of this Coleman missed qualifying and the feature and would start at the back of the feature. David Elliott, making his first start of the season, lead the field down to the green flag, but just two laps later it would be Randy Riever out in front after a charge to the front. Riever would hold the point for six laps, but it would be Bob Littlejohn snatching the lead away. It would be just a trio of laps, before Coleman made his charge to the front, and within hours of not even having an engine in the car, Coleman was standing in victory lane. Craig Stephens was second with Littlejohn, Riever and Jordan Harvey closing out the top five.

The C-Division feature was the final event of the evening. Chuck Goostrey would set the pace on the start, but Joe Biddinger, in his first race of the season would get out front and check out on the field. Unfortunately for Biddinger, he began to click off laps greater than .250 seconds faster than his qualifying time, forcing a yellow flag and placing Biddinger at the tail end of the lead lap. This would hand the lead over Shawn Kinch for the final few laps, as he went on to claim his first career feature win. Brandon Biddinger was second with Quinten Bethke, Jerry Schroll and Sabrina Booth completing the top five.

ABC heat races were won by Shawn Kinch, Riever, Amber Slagle and Jeremy Lutz, while Dane Long was quickest in qualifying with a 16.607.

This Saturday night looks to be a great night for racing at the Springport Motor Speedway, as the Michigan Legends Series makes their first appearance of the season, along with the Performance Automotive Northwest Super Late Models and ABC Stock Cars presented by the Duck’s Point C-Store and AP Motors. It is also Concord Good Neighbor Night, with all fans with a Concord address getting in absolutely free. Adults are just $10, Seniors $8 and everyone 21 and under is free. For more information, visit us online at