August 9 Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

Krzywosinski Wins Charlie Ryan Jr. Memorial at Springport Motor Speedway
By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway

Springport, Michigan (8/9) – A strong field of 18 Kitsmiller RV Super Late Models lined up to pay tribute to one of the all-time great Super Late Models competitors in the Mid-Michigan area, Charlie Ryan Jr. Given the moniker “Chargin’ Charlie” because of his ability to start deep in a field and charge his way to the front of the field, Charlie was a fan favorite, for his tenacity and success behind the wheel. This would be the 10th annual celebration of the life of Charlie Ryan Jr. and the first edition of the event to be hosted at the picturesque 3/8s (.375) mile oval.

Bill Heeney Jr. started the 50-lap grind on the pole. Heeney would pace the field for the opening 14 laps, before being displaced by a hard charging Brian Huntley, who entered the night leading the point standings by just one marker over Randy Day. Huntley would lead just a pair of circuits before he would succumb to a quick Dan Krzywosinski. After missing the opening two nights of the season, Krzywosinski had been undefeated since debuting his ride, with a three-race long win streak on the line. While the field would do everything they could to try and overcome the Clio, Michigan pilot, it was not to be as Dan Krzywosinski went on to win his first Charlie Ryan Jr. Memorial in his very first attempt. Randy Day was second and unofficially would take the points lead. Bob Bauer would finish third with Huntley and Dan Stehouwer completing the top five. Charlie Ryan Jr.’s brother Tim Ryan would win the six-car Dash, while John Kulikowski and Bauer would take the heat races. Krzywosinski was the fastest in qualifications with a 15.257 (88.48 mph). After being sent to the rear around the mid-point of the feature, Brian Huntley would be tagged as the winner of the Hard Charger award for passing the most cars in the race.

The actual first feature of the evening was the FUG Printing Sport Stocks. Dustin Burdick lead the field down to the green flag, before Jim Misner took the point at the conclusion of the opening lap. Misner however would soon be overcome by a hard charging Todd Metz Jr., who had used every bit of asphalt (and some of the infield grass) to make his way up to snatch the lead away. Aaron Taylor would work his way up to the runner up position, but could not catch Metz. William Hartman was third with Mike Westphal and Trina Wurmnest rounding out the top five of the largest Sport Stock field of the season. Ryan Gordon, DJ Marciniak and Metz won the heat races, while Metz completed his sweep of the night by setting fast time with a 18.808 (71.78 mph).

The AP Motors A-Division was next up for a 24-lap event. Craig Stephens started things off on the pole, but it was to be the battle between Joe Barnhart and Earl Miles that highlighted this event. The two drivers would battle around the track, until unfortunate contact sent Miles around. Barnhart would take responsibility for the incident and would move to the back of the field. Miles would go on to take the feature win, the second of the season for him in the AP Motors A-Division. John Trudell was second with Barnhart, JD Hancock and Mike Ammerman completing the top five.

The B-Division was next up on the track. It would be a tightly contested three-car battle for the duration of the event. Tim Sharpe Jr. looking for his second straight win, waged a war with Brian Noble and Mark Langs Jr. to decide who would take the win. After a close battle throughout the event it would be Sharpe taking the victory over Langs and Noble.

The Ducks Point C-Store C-Division feature hit the track next. Jennifer Flagg was the leader down to the start, and held strong for the opening quarter of the 24 lap grind, before she was overtaken by Tony Noble. Noble was the man to beat for a handful of laps himself before being beaten back to the line by Mark Carson. Carson would go on to claim the win, over Robert Kerber, Noble and Al Williams.

ABC Stock Car heat races were won by Tony Noble, Bryan Noble and Earl Miles. Mike Ammerman was the quickest in qualifying, turning a 16.265 (83 mph).

This coming Saturday night will be a special invitational for the FUG Printing Sport Stocks to highlight the night. The Magnum 357 Shoot out will feature 50 laps with one live pitting for fuel fill (if needed). Also on the card will be the return of the Drive Train Specialists Modifieds and the AP Motors / Ducks Point C-Store ABC Stock Cars. It is also Good Neighbor Night for residents of Portland. They will get in for free. Otherwise, adults are just $10 and anyone 21 and under is free! For more information visit us online at

Ninja RSS Syndicator

SMS Everything SMS Everything