July 27 Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

Mother Nature Loses, Six Drivers Win at Springport Motor Speedway
By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway

Springport, Michigan (7/27) – On a cool night that saw many area Speedways forced to call things off, Springport Motor Speedway stayed dry and was rewarded with a great night of racing.

The Performance Automotive Northwest Super Late Models were the first feature to hit the track for a 30-lap main event. Three-time Track Champion Brian Huntley lead the field down to the green flag, however it would be Ray Clay muscling his way by to take the point at the conclusion of the first circuit. Clay would set the pace until the first caution flag, which would put Justin Claucherty to the outside of Clay on the restart. Claucherty would take advantage, claiming the lead. Claucherty’s charge was all the more impressive when considering the fact his car did not even have a motor in it less than 24 hours before. Claucherty would hold on to claim the win, with Dan Krzywosinski second, and Huntley, Randy Day and Clay completed the top five. Roger Northrop and Huntley claimed heat race wins. Phil Massuch was the fastest in qualifying with a 15.290 around the 3/8s (.375) mile, high banked oval.

The next feature to hit the Speedway was the Duck’s Point C-Store A Division feature, running 25 laps. Cody Eglon would be the polesitter, setting the pace down for the initial start, however it would be 17 year old Amber Slagle took command of the top spot. Slagle would set a torrid pace around the Speedway, as the field sorted itself behind her. Andrew Ritter, driving in a borrowed car would run her down, with six laps left to run, and would manage to wrest the lead away. Ritter would go on to take the win, with Joe Barnhart would come home second with Slagle, Dane Long and Chris Rugg completing the top five.

Next up would be the 20-lap AP Motors B-Division feature event. Bob Littlejohn would start on the pole and pull away from the field. Littlejohn paced the field for 75% of the event, before a caution would have him starting next to a resurgent Craig Stephens. Stephens would hold the point for the final few laps, as he went on to take his first win of the season. Tom Coleman was second with Randy Riever, Shane Miller and Jordan Harvey completing the top five.

Robert Kerber would set the pace down for the start of the C-Division feature. Kerber would hold the point for the opening handful of laps, but it was Corby Howk, driving a determined race taking the lead back. Several drivers would challenge, but it would be Howk crossing the line first and claiming his first career feature win. Kerber was second with Jerry Schroll and Mark Langs Jr. completing the top four.

Joe Barnhart was fast qualifier for the ABC Division, with a 16.291. The Duck’s Point C-Store Dash was won by Justin Eidenier, while heat races were claimed by Littlejohn, Dan Lewis and Mike Horvath.

The Sport Stocks would be next on the Speedway for their 15 lap event. Mike Workman lead the field for the start, but it would be Dutch Taylor leading the first time around. However, Dutch would be forced to give up the lead to his grandson Aaron on lap two. This would begin a back and forth battle for top spot between Taylor and Rick Peck. The two drivers would slice and dice around the high banks until Peck was able to snatch the lead away on lap 13. Peck would go on to claim the win, with A. Taylor second, Steve Workman third, D. Taylor fourth and Gary Martin completing the top five. Brad Robison and A. Taylor claimed heat race wins, with Peck setting fast time with a 18.600.

The MCR Dwarf Cars also ran a special unadvertised feature event, after their original venue for the night, the M-40 Speedway lost power during a storm. Erich Harvey started things off up front, but it was Shonda Harbin leading after lap one. Harbin would lead until Kim Hughes snatched the lead away on a restart. With just six laps left to run it would be Brandon Basye claiming the lead also on a restart. Basye would take the win, with Hughes second. Harbin, Jon Wylie and Ed Laroe would finish off the top five.

This Saturday at the Speedway is Autograph Night, where the fans will have the opportunity to meet and greet with all the stars of the Springport Motor Speedway. On the docket for the night at the Drive Train Specialists Modifieds, ABC Stock Cars presented by Duck’s Point C-Store and AP Motors, and the Sport Stocks. It is also Holt / Dimondale night, where anyone with an ID from one of those two towns get in absolutely free. Adults are just $10, Seniors $8 and anyone 21 and under is absolutely free. For more information visit us online at