July 29 Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

Even The Revenuers Cannot Stop The Moonshine Run at Springport

By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway

Springport, Michigan (6/29) – The first annual Moonshine Run, saw fans come in droves to check out the racing program that harkened back to the early days of stock car racing, when the same drivers who loaded up their cars with “White Lightening” would also gather around the dusty short tracks of south to see just who had the best car.

The first feature of the night was the Sport Stock division, lining up. Brad Robison would lead the field down to the green flag for the start, but mechanical issues would see Robison fade on the start, handing the lead over the Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame driver Dutch Taylor. Richard Peck, a driver that has had an outstanding record during the 2013 campaign would work his way up from dead last on the starting grid to challenge the Hall of Fame driver, but it was not to be as Dutch Taylor held on to take the win, Peck was second with Aaron Taylor, William Hartman and Rob Fizzell completing the top five. Aaron Taylor won the heat, with Fizzell taking the Australian Pursuit. William Hartman was fast qualifier with a 19.061 around the 3/8s (.375) mile high banked oval.

Next to hit the track were the Performance Automotive Northwest Super Late Models for their 35-lap main event. Jason Burkhart would pace the field down to the green flag, but it would be Randy Day getting the run on the outside to claim the top spot by the time the field made its way back to the line. Day would hold the point for a pair of laps before Multi-time Track Champion Brian Huntley snuck by. Huntley would hold the point for a quartet of circuits before a hard charging Justin Claucherty was able to slip underneath and take the point. Claucherty would set a torrid pace, but veteran Phil Massuch would get to the second position, and do his best to try and run down the Brooklyn, Michigan driver at the head of the field. The laps would dwindle down and with no aid from a caution flag, Massuch would settle for second as Justin Claucherty claimed his second win of the season. Huntley was third with Dan Krzywosinski and Bob Bauer completing the top five. Donnie Burkhart and Claucherty claimed heat race wins, with Massuch setting fast time with a 15.337. Brian Huntley was the winner of the Duck’s Point C-Store Pizza Dash.

The action packed Duck’s Point C-Store A-Division feature would be next up, running a 25-lap feature event. Tom Dumbald, Jr. would pace the field down to the green, and lead nearly half of the feature. But Jeremy Lutz, looking to claim a second straight feature win would get the jump on Dumbald as they came down for a restart. Lutz would lead the final half of the race, holding off late charges from Joe Barnhart, to claim his second straight, and third overall, win of the season. Barnhart was second with Justin Dinzik, Mike Ammerman and Cody Eglon completing the top five. Dumbald was the winner of the A-Division Australian Pursuit.

The AP Motors B-Division came out next for a 20-lap feature event. It would be Mark Langs Jr. starting things off from the pole position, but it would be Rich Kinch leading the next time by. Kinch would lead the opening six laps, but it was Bob Littlejohn, make his first appearance of the season, getting by and taking the lead. Littlejohn would hold the point for the remainder of the race as the take win. Kinch was second with Martin French, Langs and Jerry Schroll completing the top five. Cody Eglon won the B-Division Australian Pursuit.

The final feature of the evening was the C-Division feature. Dan Baschal would set the pace down to the line, and lead the opening lap, before Defending Track Champion Sabrina Booth would get by to take the lead. Booth would hold the point for four laps, but on the restart would suffer a mechanical issue, allowing the 75 of Steven Wood, making a four-plus hour trek from Indiana to race, to take the lead. Wood suffered a rear end failure during hot laps, and a few local teams loaned parts and manpower and got the car working for the feature event. Wood would go on to take the win, and in an emotional victory lane, dedicate the win to his father, who he lost last December. Randy Riever was second with Larry Surber completing the podium. Riever was the Australian Pursuit winner.

Joe Barnhart was the fastest qualifier for the ABC Stock Cars, with a 16.465. Quinten Bethke, Riever, Amber Slagle and Lutz won the heat races.

This Saturday night is another huge show at The Port, as it is the return of the USAC Ford Focus Midgets for the running of the Steve Paul Memorial. Also on the card will be the Drive Train Specialists Modifieds and the ABC Stock Cars. Adults are just $10, $8 for seniors and everyone 21 and under is absolutely free. It is also Bellevue Good Neighbor Night, so a Bellevue ID gets you in for absolutely free. Gates open at 5pm, racing at 7pm. For more information, visit us online at