June 14 Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

Obrinske Wins Wheels for Wheels Charity Race at Springport
By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway Staff

Springport, Michigan (6/14) – 27 cars attempted qualification for the Top Speed Fabrication ICAR Modifieds Series the headliner for the second annual Wheels for Wheels race which raises money for the Children’s Equipment Network, making sure children fresh out of surgery have the equipment necessary for getting around. After two Last Chance races a 24 car field took the green flag, lead by Dave Dobbins. While Dobbins would set the pace, he would have a bumper full of 2011 Track Champion Walt Obrinske Jr. With 17 laps left to run, Obrinske would start to the right hand side of Dobbins, and with the hammer put down, Obrinske would win the drag race down to turn one, and would hold the point the remainder of the event and lay claim to the biggest win of his career. Dobbins was second with Jordan Pruitt, Tony Basalone and Chad Poole completing the top five. Mark Bott and Greg Fullarton took the two Last Chance races and Chad Poole set quick time with a 15.668 around the 3/8s (.375) mile oval.

The next feature on the track would be the Homestead Auto Repair Sport Stocks division. Dustin Burdick was the polesitter for the event, but he would be quickly overtaken by Ryan Gordon. Gordon would have a short lived time up front, because Defending Track Champion Aaron Taylor would claim the position on lap two. Current point leader Dutch Taylor would get close to overtaking, but Aaron was not to be denied as he took his second feature win of the season. Dutch Taylor was second with Cameron Garza, Lex Jurecki and Wayne Parkhurst completing the top five. Heat race wins Darrell Harmon and Aaron Taylor, while Aaron was also quickest in qualifying with a 18.995.

The AP Motors A-Division Feature was next up Craig Stephens starting off up front, Stephens would lose the race back to the line with Justin Eidenier holding the point. Eidenier would however be stuck wrestling an ill handling machine, which sent him out of the groove off of turn two and allowed Joe Barnhart to claim the top spot on lap 5. Barnhart would not be headed as he went on to win his fifth event of the 2014 campaign. JD Hancock was second with Eidenier, Stephens and John Trudell completing the top five runners.

The combined B-Division and Ducks Point C-Store C-Division feature would be the final event of the evening. Robert Kerber would start on the pole representing the C-Division, but it would be his teammate Mark Langs Jr. holding the position on lap two. Kerber would have a spirited battle with Pete Schong over the C-Division honors, however Schong was not able to overcome Kerber in that race. A war was waged up front between Langs and Jordan Harvey, but Harvey would gain the advantage on lap 16. However, that would not be the end of it all. Bryan Noble would make a power move with two laps remaining and took over the point, winning his third feature overall and second consecutive. Harvey was second with Randy Riever, Langs and Mike Haven completing the top five.

ABC Heat Races were won by Riever, Langs and Barnhart, while Barnhart also took fast qualifier honors with a 16.225.

Coming up this Saturday is another great event in store. The Kitsmiller RV Outlaw Super Late Models will be back on the card. Also on hand will be the Vintage Race Cars. The AP Motors / Ducks Point C-Store ABC Stock Cars and Sport Stocks will complete the card. In addition it also Michigan Auto Racing Fan Club Night, and Good Neighbor night for Marshall. Adults are just $10, Seniors are $8 and anyone 21 and under is free. For more information visit us online at: