June 21 Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

Krzywosinski Makes it Two Straight at Springport

By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway

Springport, Michigan (6/21) – With vintage race cars on parade, the Springport Motor Speedway celebrated the history of motorsports, while also showing the highest evolution of short track racing with an action packed evening of racing.

First up on the Speedway was the FUG Printing Sport Stocks for their feature event. Jesse Thatcher lead the field down for the initial start, but it would be a race from the back of the field to the front for Michigan Motorsports Hall of Famer and current point leader Dutch Taylor and his grandson Aaron Taylor. The two drivers found themselves up front and dicing for the lead. While the two drivers played a cat and mouse game around the semi-banked 3/8s (.375) mile oval, it would be Aaron taking the advantage, and taking the lead. While his Grandfather stayed within striking distance, it would be Aaron Taylor locking down his second consecutive and third overall feature of the season. Dutch Taylor was second with Ron Fizzel, William Hartman and Lex Jurecki completing the top five. Jurecki and Dutch Taylor took heat race wins, while fast qualifier honors went to Fizell with an 18.933 second lap.

The next feature of the evening would be the Kitsmiller RV Super Late Models running a 30-lap main event. Dave Stehouwer would lead the field down for the start, and managed to hold the point for the first four laps, but it would be Steve Dorer sneaking by to take command of the top spot. Dorer would be run down by most recent feature winner Dan Krzywosinski. The two drivers would battle around the speedway, but as Dorer went to the outside of a lapped car, the slower car developed a push, sliding up the track. This was all the opening Krzywosinski would need to slip under the two machines and march on to his second consecutive feature win. Dorer was second with Randy Day, Stehouwer and Brian Huntley completing the top five. Heat race wins went to Scott Sigman and Steve Dorer, while Krzywosinski set fast time with a 15.275.

The AP Motors A-Division feature would be next in line for their 25-lap main event. 2012 Ducks Point C-Store B-Division Champion Craig Stephens would lead the field down for the start, and held the point for a few laps before what appeared to be a broken sway bar forced the Wacousta, Michigan pilot to retire from the event. This would hand the lead over to Defending Track Champion Joe Barnhart. Barnhart looked to be fast, but 2014 Debutant Mike Ammerman, the 2010 Sportsmen Track Champion would snag the lead away. While Barnhart would try to run him down, it was not to be, Ammerman took the win. Barnhart was second with Damon Place, JD Hancock and Jeremy Lutz rounding out the top five.

The Ducks Point C-Store B-Division feature would close out the night as initial rain drops began to sprinkle on the track. Robert Kerber lead the field down for the start, but a caution flag five laps in would see the Battle Creek drive unseated from his position, as Randy Riever was able to take command of the race. Riever was able to build up a significant gap over the field, but it would be Bryan Noble, a three time feature winner, ran down the leader. Noble would try and loosen up Riever, but it was not to be, as Riever took his first win of the season. Noble was second with Mark Langs Jr., Rich Kinch and Shawn Kinch completing the top five.

Heat races for the ABC Stock Cars were won by Rich Kinch, Craig Stephens and Joe Barnhart. The B-Division ran the four car dash, with Jeff Lonsberry taking the win. Earl Miles was fast qualifier with a 16.221.

This Saturday will be another great event at the Springport Motor Speedway as we celebrate our friends in the FFA and 4H Clubs in the area. On the card will be the Drive Train Specialists Modifieds along with the AP Motors / Ducks Point C-Store ABC Stock Cars and the FUG Printing Sport Stocks. It is Albion Good Neighbor Night, so anyone with an Albion ID will get in for free. Adults are $10, Seniors $8 and anyone 21 and under is absolutely free. For more information visit us online at