June 7 Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

Intense Racing Highlights Autograph Night at Springport Motor Speedway

By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway

Springport, Michigan (6/7) – While the fans had the chance to meet and greet with the stars of the Springport Motor Speedway, it was the intense racing action that made for true highlight of the evening.

The first feature event of the evening was the AP Motors A-Division Feature. For the majority of the event it looked as though Ron Heeney would be able to hold off the Defending Track Champion Joe Barnhart. It was a intense racing, but when a caution fell with just two laps left to run, Barnhart looked to have one last shot at claiming the win. On the restart, Heeney slid up the track, allowing Barnhart to get by and go on to claim the win. Heeney settled for second with JD Hancock, John Trudell and Craig Stephens completing the top five.

The Ducks Point C-Store B-Division feature was next up, and they would put on another barnburner of an event. Eric Wagner and Mark Langs Jr. battled side by side for the lead for numerous laps before Langs got a decided lead on lap 11. A late restart however allowed Bryan Noble to get alongside Langs and pull away, taking his second win of the season. Langs was second with Wagner, Mike Havens and Bob Littlejohn rounded out the top five.

Joe Barnhart was the quickest qualifier for the ABC Stock Cars, with a 16.338. Heat race wins were claimed by Robert Kerber, Randy Riever, Bryan Noble and Ron Heeney.

The Kitsmiller RV Super Late Models were next on the Speedway and they would put on the show of the night. After Randy Day led the initial 10 laps Steve Dorer found himself out front. It would be a rough and tumble battle with Dorer and Dan Krzywosinki, both of whom were making their first appearance of the season. The two drivers would beat and bang around the 3/8s (.375) mile oval. For the second time that night a late caution would see a two lap shootout to the finish. Dorer would have the advantage on the first lap, but Krzywosinski would find an opening heading down the backstretch and made it stuck on the bottom coming off of four and would just barely beat Dorer to the line. Third place was Justin Claucherty with Day and Brian Huntley completing the top five. Tim Rugg and Randy Day took heat race wins with Claucherty locking down fast qualifier honors with a blistering fast 15.007.

The final feature of the evening was the Sport Stock division. The first half of the race would see an intense battle between Darrell Harmon and Jesse Thatcher, the two rookie competitors battling it out before Michigan Motorsports Hall of Fame driver Dutch Taylor intervened. Taylor would claim the lead just past the halfway point and go on to claim the popular feature win. Thatcher was second with Harmon completing the podium positions. Harmon took the heat races, while Taylor was the Dash winner. Taylor was also fast qualifier with a 19.338

This Saturday Night the Top Speed Fabrication ICAR Modifieds for their second visit of the season. Last time they were in attendance nearly 40 of the open wheeled machines showed up! This is the annual Wheels for Wheels event to help raise money for mobility equipment for children suffering from mobility related illness and injury. The ABC Stock Cars and Sport Stocks will also be in attendance and there will be a pig roast in the pit area after the racing events. Adults are just $10, Seniors $8 and anyone 21 and under are free. It is also Springport Good Neighbor Night, so anyone with a Springport address on their ID gets in for free. For more information visit us online at

Ninja RSS Syndicator

SMS Everything SMS Everything