May 18 Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

Pinard, Massuch, Lutz, Dumbauld and French Winners at Springport

By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway

Springport, MI (5/18) – A huge crowd filled with passionate race fans piled in to watch a great night of racing with idyllic conditions. Also in the crowd were the excited students from Springport Elementary and Middle School who had sold tickets to raise funds for the Springport PTA.

The Sport Stocks lined up first for their feature, with Robert Siegel leading the field down to the green. It would be Ira Hosner weaving through traffic to lead the opening circuit. Hosner would set the early pace, while Greg Pinard powered his way towards the front in his Pontiac Sunfire. Pinard and Hosner would put on a show around the 3/8s (.375) mile, high banked oval, with Pinard searching high and low for a way around. Pinard would muscle his way to the bottom of the track, and go on to take the lead and the win. Tyler Heeney would come home second with Hosner, Brad Robison and Tina Lewis completing the top five. Heeney and Pinard were heat race winners, with Lewis setting the benchmark in qualifying with a 19.755.

The Performance Automotive Northwest Super Late Models were next up, running a 35-lap main event. Three-time Track Champion Brian Huntley would start from the pole. Huntley would look to be the driver to beat in the early running, but would have Phil Massuch all over his back bumper. Huntley would see the handling on his car go away, opening the door for Massuch to swoop underneath and claim the lead. Huntley would get hung up on the outside groove, opening the door for Justin Claucherty and Dan Krzywosinski to sneak past.  Massuch would hold station at the front of the pack, leading the field when the checkered flag fell. Krzywosinski was second with Claucherty, Huntley and Ray Clay completing the top five. Heat race wins were claimed by Jason Burkhart and Derek Wiley. Claucherty was fast qualifier with a 15.133.

The third feature to hit the track was the Ducks Point C-Store A-Division feature, running 25-laps. JD Hancock would start things off up front. The field would get itself sorted behind Hancock. Hancock would hold the point for over half the race, but Jeremy Lutz would manage to get past on lap 15. Lutz would hold steady as the field played catch up behind him, but it was not to be as Jeremy Lutz took the big win. Justin Stephens was second with Joe Barnhart, Earl Miles and Hancock completing the top five.

Next up was the AP Motors B-Division 20-lap feature. Henry Dowker would set the pace on the initial start, but Phillip Black, would be the leader the very next time around. This would be a race of attrition, as several of the top cars suffered mechanical issues, but in the end, it would be Tom Dumbauld Jr. outlasting the competition to take the emotional victory. Todd DeWaters was second, with John Trudell, Josh Spragg, and Black rounding out the top five.

The 15-lap C-Division feature closed out the night. It would be James Sawade leading at the start, but Robert Kerber would make an exciting pass for the lead. Kerber would lead the next pair of circuits, but it would be Mark Langs grasping the lead with a pass on the outside. Langs would hold the point, as Martin French made use of the mythical Superman line to power his way to the front. French would grasp the lead with less than a handful of laps to run. French would hang on to take the win, with Langs second. Jerry Schroll, Sabrina Booth and Corby Howk completed the top five.

French, DeWaters and Lutz took the ABC heat races, while Earl Miles was fastest in qualifying for the ABC Stock Cars, with a 16.330.

This Saturday night will be the 2013 debut for the Drive Train Specialists Modifieds. The ABC Stock Cars and Sport Stocks will also be on the card. It is also Kids Bike Night at the Speedway, where we will be giving away several bikes to the kids in the crowd. It is also Eaton Rapids Good Neighbor Night, anyone with an Eaton Rapids ID gets in for free. Gates open at 5pm, racing at 7pm. Adults are just $10, Seniors $8 and all children 21 and under are absolutely free. For more information, visit us online at