May 4 Race Results

Written by SMS Admin.

Claucherty, Schnabal, Barnhart, Coleman and Reiver Win on Opening Night

By: Chris Fobbe – Springport Motor Speedway

Springport, Michigan (5/4) – A strong field of cars pulled into the pit area for the opening night of racing for the 2013 season at the picturesque 3/8s (.375) mile high banked oval of the Springport Motor Speedway.

The first feature of the evening was the 30-lap Performance Automotive Northwest Super Late Model feature. Chris Burkhart lead the field down to the green flag, and he would pace the field in the early running. There was a lot of action early on as Eaton Rapids, Michigan veteran Phil Massuch took command of the lead on lap three. Soon after contact between fast qualifier Justin Claucherty and Randy Day would make contact, moving Claucherty to the back of the field. When the race resumed, Massuch would set a torrid pace, but Claucherty would masterfully work his way up through the field. With less than a handful of laps left to run, Claucherty was trying to close in on Massuch, when Massuch abruptly fell off the pace, parking at the bottom of the backstretch, an overheating issue the culprit. This would hand the lead over the Clauchery, who went on the take the win. Randy Day was second with Brian Huntley, Jim Davis and Chris Burkhart rounding out the top five. Heat race wins were claimed by C. Burkhart and Day. Claucherty was the fast qualifier, with a 15.029.

The next event to hit the track was the 25-lap event for the MCR Dwarf Cars Series. Roger Balcom lead the field down for the start, but it would quickly be Junior Gould taking over the lead on the opening lap. It would be a torrid, if aggressive race, as the smaller scale cars whipped around the Springport high banks. Eventually Illinois invader Tom Schnabel would manage to get around Gould, and from that point on it would be smooth sailing as he went on to take the win. Gould was second with Mike McManman Jr., Jim Miller and Kim Hughes rounding out the top five. Heat races went to Jeff Slayton, Joe McManman and Schnabel. Ed Ensor would be the fast qualifier.

The next event to hit the track was the 25-lap Duck’s Point C-Store A-Division feature. JD Hancock would pace the field down to the green flag, but it would be Jeremy Lutz holding the point at the completion of the first lap. Just past halfway Josh Trammel would find himself taking command of the lead as Lutz suffered mechanical issue. It would look to be all Trammel at the end, but a last lap charge by Joe Barnhart and Andrew Ritter would see the drivers three-wide into final corners, Barnhart would just barely nip Trammel at the line to take his first career feature win. Trammel was second with Ritter third, Amber Slagle was fourth with JD Hancock rounding out the top five.

The AP Motors B-Division feature was next up for a 20-lap main event. Corby Hawk would set the pace down to the green flag. It would be a hard race between Hawk and Justin Edenier, with Edenier getting the lead. Edenier would pace the early few laps, but it would a power move from Tom Coleman that would place the Jackson, Michigan driver in the lead. Coleman would power around the track for the duration, taking the opening night win, Tom Dumbauld would hang on for second with John Trudell, Rod Morrison and Todd DeWaters finishing off the top five.

The 15-lap C-Division feature would close out the evening. Defending C-Division Champion Sabrina Booth would lead the field at the start, but it would be Martin French swinging around to lead the opening lap. The lead would last for a pair of circuits, before Randy Reiver took command of the top spot. Reiver would hang on to the point, as he went on to take his first ever feature win. Mark Langs Jr. was second with Matt Edmonds, French and Robert Kerber completing the top five.

ABC Stock Cars heat race winners would be Reiver, Coleman, Dumbauld and Trammel, with Defending Drive Train Specialists Modifieds track champion Earl Miles setting fast time with a 16.246.

This Saturday will be another big night of racing at The Port, with the 2013 debut of the Drive Train Specialists Modifieds as the Sport Stocks, in addition to the ABC Stock Cars presented by Duck’s Point C-Store and AP Motors. It is also Charlotte Good Neighbor Night, allowing anyone with a Charlotte ID to get in for absolutely free. Everyone 21 and under also gets in for free, with adults $10 and Seniors $8. For more information, visit us online at

Ninja RSS Syndicator

SMS Everything SMS Everything